Pi Day!

Was yesterday. But my mommy sent me a package that I have yet to receive that I expect will be full of pie. Oh boy!

So I’m back from Spring Break, which could probably be put down as the worst spring break I’ve ever had, but I’m not really going to go into it. It was shitty, and I know why, and I can’t wait for another opportunity to go home instead. South Carolina, however, was beautiful, I love the beach, and I think I have a tan, too.

South Carolina

Today, instead of working on a paper I need to have revised for tomorrow evening (I did a little editing, I swear), I’ve spent some of my time organizing a stash-based sock club for myself. Squee! I’m so outrageously excited about this. Here’s what I did:

1. Remove all stash from sexy clear hanging yarn-rack, and put it on the bed.
2. Admire yarn.
3. Label envelopes with each yarn’s name and colorway.
4. Choose patterns for each yarn.
5. Print/obtain each pattern and put it in each yarn’s envelope.
6. Seal the envelopes.
7. Put all the yarn back in the yarn-rack.
8. When ready for a new pair of socks, grab a yarn and its pattern!
9. Be surprised and delighted!
10. Knit awesome socks all year!

newly organized sock club!

I had 11 sock yarns ready for a pattern. Or, maybe 10, because one of those yarns is supposed to be for the Playwright’s very boring and plain socks. I’m going to knit him Thuja socks instead of boring socks, out of Dream in Color Smooshy.

Flamingo Pie Thujas, prepared

It’s a bit like cheating, but I’ve also got the next two pairs of socks I want to knit planned. Once I finish my Eleanors, I either want to knit a pair of Leyburn socks out of STR in “Chapman Springs,” or a pair of Herringbone Rib socks from Knitting Socks with Handpainted Yarn in Black Bunny Fibers in “The Deep.” It seems fitting to pair a Carol Sucolski yarn with a pattern from her book! So excited.

Some pictures! Works in progress!

DSCN2938
The might-never-get-finished Alaska mittens that I’m sort of working on. Sort of.

DSCN2937
The sock yarn blanket, which at 35 squares is now almost wide enough (one more), and is 21% complete. Woo hoo!

Eleanors
Eleanor socks, about to get toes. Knit out of Mind’s Eye Yarns Merino/Tencel, on US 2s.

Bayerische
The Bayerische challenge. Knit out of Cascade Heritage, on US 1s.

Yay socks!

Okay, seriously, I need to work on my paper.


2 comments

  1. I’m sorry your spring break was shitty; I know you were afraid of that. :( Also, is it bad that I’m jealous that you get to edit papers? I spent the small part of my day that I wasn’t sleeping/sneezing/coughing/blowing my nose/bemoaning my flip-floppy stomach looking at grad schools. I miss being a student!

    Also, I love the idea of sealing up the envelopes and not know which yarns and patterns are in which one. I might do that; I have like six pairs of socks I could knit, probably.

  2. Pingback: April Begins « space kitty knits


Leave a Reply

