FO: Herringbone Rib Socks

For Christmas, my sister gave me a copy of Knitting Socks with Handpainted Yarn by Carol J. Sulcoski. It was perfect. It was everything I wanted in a sock pattern book. Comprehensive, fun, with great patterns, and designed specifically for all the handpainted yarn I had in my stash (duh).

When I got back to school, I headed into Philly one Sunday afternoon to get my book signed (!!!) and came away with this gem of a skein…

Black Bunny Fibers: The Deep
Black Bunny Fibers sock yarn in “The Deep.”

Finally, on March 26th, I cast on for a pair of socks in this yarn. I chose the Herringbone Rib socks by Kristi Schueler.

The Deep Herringbones

They took a long time. The pattern is simple, but not easy. Or, easy, but not simple? There is patterning on both of the two rows that make up the pattern, and it has yarn overs and stitches passed over other stitches, and complicated details everywhere. It is beautiful. The fabric was fabulous, and the yarn felt so good in my hands. I loved knitting them.

So they came along slowly, row by row, and soon I was turning the heel. After the heel turn one half of each sock was plain stockinette, so I could go a little faster, but the instep side still required attention.

April 19th, I finished them.

Herringbone Rib socks

I love them.

Herringbone Rib socks

They fit perfectly, the pattern is gorgeous, the yarn is the best color ever. They’re my favorites.

Herringbone Rib socks

Thanks, Sarah. =D If I didn’t love these so much, I might give them to you. But you’re out of luck, because these are the best socks in the world.

2 comments

  1. I like the pattern, and the yarn! A nice blue. But which Nabokov book is that? (He’s one of my favorite authors.)


Leave a Reply

