Good Fortune

Psst! Scroll down to the end for a contest! Yarn! Books! For you!

I’ve been the recipient of excellent fortune lately, having won not one blog contest, but two actually. A few weeks ago or so, Red Knits held a contest for her 100th blog post, and I was drawn a winner! So I wanted to share two things with you today.

First, Red’s generosity! I got the loveliest package from her the other day, full of yarn and goodies.

prize goodies from Cheryl @ Red Knits

She sent me a yummy skein of Knit Me Now Yarn Sock Love in the colorway “Lady Slipper,” which is the state flower of Minnesota. It’s gorgeous. Pink and green and tight twist and squishy! I love it. And me not buying sock yarn lately… this was an excellent treat.

Knit Me Now sock yarn in "Lady Slipper"

It’s so spring and festive!

Also in the package was a delightful bookmark needle gauge, which is currently tucked into my copy of The Friday Night Knitting Club from the Yarn Pirate, and a little tin of knitter’s hand cream. It smells good, and feels so nice on my hands!

knitter's hand cream

Thank you, Red!

So, in return for my good fortune, I’m going to run a contest of my own. The bookstore on campus was having their end of year sale, so I picked up a copy of the first Knit Lit book. Leave a comment, telling me what kind of good fortune or generosity you’ve come across lately (can be knitting related, but doesn’t have to be!) and I’ll put your name into a hat. At 4pm (EST) on Sunday, May 3rd, I’ll draw one and send the winner this book, along with some other things (ahem, yarn) I’ll find to tuck in with it. =)

P.S. I’m almost done the PW’s socks AND my cami, so stay tuned!

6 comments

  1. Our new puppy found us and now has a new home. I think that is the best fortune we’ve had. :) He’s adorable and now we are totally crazy with 3 dogs!

    Love the yarn! So, pretty!!

  2. Surviving tax season, heh. Actually, I can think of so many ways I’ve been blessed recently….my boyfriend, my friends, my classes and of course incredible yarn!

  3. Ooh, count me in! :)

    Some of the best generosity I’ve seen lately is with my students. Our kids don’t share. Kids have a hard time sharing in general, most of them, and with our kids being autistic…well. It’s harder for them. But we have one kid who’s just the sweetest guy. We had a book fair recently, and he bought $25 worth of nice, new books and then donated them to the children’s hospital fundraiser one of our classrooms was doing. So cute. :D

    Also, my birthday is Saturday, and I have the good fortune to have a boyfriend nice enough to schlep me out to MD for sheep & wool and then back home to NJ for dinner with the family. And that, my friend, is teh ossum.

  4. I have the good fortune of being able to hang out with all of my favorite people tomorrow at my favorite event of the year – the MDS&W fest!

    Will you be there??? Stop by the Cloverhill booth and say hi if you are!

  5. Sorry to have missed your contest but glad you liked your package! I was out of town and away from the computer at a dance festival all weekend.


Leave a Reply

