FO, College, and Socktoberfest

I went to visit J at college this weekend, which was delightful. I had today off from school for Jewish religous purposes, so I got to stay until lunch with him.

Here, he contemplates a pretzel.

I took the River Rapid socks with me (which are so pretty in Koigu that I might marry them). They are such a quick knit: I cast on Thursday, I think, and was grafting the toe by Sunday night. This is a HUGE time-space-continum jump from my normal 2 week completion time, so I was way excited.

J put them on and modeled them for me while he read.
They are just so beautiful. And comfy. I love wearing them. I added one repeat of the water/cable because I went, “64 stitches, ha!” and they turned out swimmingly. I wish the cuff were a little tighter, but now I’ve learned to start on smaller needles.

That’s right! They’re cuff-down socks! And I loved making them. I really liked picking up stitches for the heel, and I love the way they look. I’m a fan.

After I finished them, I started taking pictures of J instead, because he’s so cute and splendid and I just can’t help it.

First he said, “No! Woodchuck!”

But then he agreed to one. Then he said, “Let me see it…”

Flash. Such is life.

I think I’ll try to take a really nice glamour shot for the FO River Rapids post, but we’ll see.

Socktober Fest (almost forgot)

I’m so in. I have lots of plans– or at least, two, which I’d love to get finished. First I have my Zebra socks which I’ve ripped out again and restarted.
Look! There it is in front of J’s dorm! Fancy that!

The other is a secret project which I mustn’t tell you about, but you’ll definitely know about before Christmas.

I’d also like to get a start on that holiday, with socks for my mom and maybe other people. Other than that, I don’t have plans, I just love a month devoted to socks making.

So far I’ve made four pairs ever. Socks are great!

One comment


Leave a Reply

