Coronet


So, there I was, knitting along on my blanket, knit knit knit knit knit, giant blanket, when POOF, I’m out of yarn. Totally done! I actually went, “What?!” out loud. Because I’m enthusiastic.

At any rate, Friday night, whilst watching Animal Planet/Discovery Health at my charge’s house (babysitting), I decreased for the top of my banded hat! I suppose it’s sort of based on the Coronet pattern from knitty.com, but really it was more or less my own. I saw this pattern and went, “Sweet!” and then made it on my own later. Though, I’ll admit to checking the pattern for the cable band before I started. Also, mine has a kind of schrumpy bit in the back where I crossed it once too often (or too few?) before grafting. It was going to be awesome and perfect all the way around, but now it looks kind of funny. It’s not terrible, just odd.

=D Plus, it’s alpaca.

coronet
You could stalk me, if you really wanted to. But don’t.


Braid detail.

Begun: Round about January 26, 2007
Finished: February 2, 2007
Yarn: Classic Elite “Miracle” (alpaca) in light blue and light purple; a Christmas gift from my sister. So lovely! Splendid to knit. Soooofffttt.
Needles: Size 5 (US) circulars (x2 for the top)
Pattern: Based on Coronet from knitty.com.

Cast on 17 stitches: k2, p2, k9, p2, k2.
Row 3: k2, p2, c6f, k3, p2, k2.
Row 7: k2, p2, k3, c6b, p2, k2.
I’m pretty visual. Basically you always make the outside “strand” go overtop of the inside one. Like a braid.

The band ended up about 23 inches long, and I grafted the two ends together (after picking out my initial cast on, which was not provisional as it probably should have been). I picked up 82 stitches, upside down (so the band would fold up), and knit forevar.

Then I k2tog, [k7, k2tog] around.
[K6, k2tog] around.
[K5, k2tog] around.
[K4, k2tog] around.
[K3, k2tog] around.
[k2tog] around.
[k2tog] around again. 9 stitches left. Thread needle, pull yarn through stitches, pull tight. Quite simple.

Notes: I love this hat so far. =D

I AM SO ARTSY!
Me being artsy. Or blurry. Whatever.

2 comments

  1. Lovely hat! And it looks warm, just in time for our frigid temps.

    Did you see the note on the Baltimore knitting meetup board about black lion brand chenille up for grabs?


Leave a Reply

