Caribbean Blue

If I could go to the Caribbean again, I would in a heartbeat. It’s already getting hot there during the day, with the sun shining down, and the warm blue water, and the sweet, pretty flowers…

merino/BFL

We went to St. Thomas in the US Virgin Islands a few years ago (four? five?) and spent the week at this hotel/resort with a pool and its own beach. We spent tons of time snorkling off this beach, chasing the cuttlefish around, exploring big rocks, watching the bright fish dart about, trying to follow a sea turtle. The sand on the beach was white and hot, and the water was so clear and calm.

merino/BFL

This is a blend of BFL and superwash merino, dyed by Lisa Souza that I bought at Stitches East last fall. The colorway is “South Pacific,” but looking at it just makes me think about the Caribbean islands. Sure, it looks like Hawaii, too, but I loved the Caribbean. I think it’s the blues.

merino/BFL

Specs:
Fiber: Superwash Merino + Blue Faced Leicester
Weight: Bulky, with some worsted spots
Yardage: 280 yards (w00t!)
Spun/Plyed: on a Louet S51.
Started: March 15th
Finished: March 21st

merino/BFL

I think it’s going to be a hat.

2 comments

  1. Hey, sorry about the lurking. That yarn is quite pretty. Anyway, I’m home this week. I don’t know if anyone else is still around. But let me know if you want to hang out.


Leave a Reply

