FO: Caribbean Blue

Well, it’s not hat weather, but it is Caribbean weather.

DSCN2509

Today I had my last day at school, sort of. Yesterday was the “real” last day– today we showed up at 7:30 am and had a big crazy senior party. Our theme was “jail break,” and it was a bit silly, but it was fun. Last night, for part of our senior prank, I bought $25 worth of balloons and filled the (upper school) principal’s office with them. He’s one of my friends’s dad, so it was all good. I started blowing them up and people just kept coming to join me. I’ve wanted to do that all year.

(our last day, yesterday)

In the morning he said it was the most fun he’d had in a while, popping all those balloons (~400) to get into the office. My hand still smell like latex from picking up scraps afterwards. Hilarity.

DSCN2495

We had a fancy brunch and everyone but me apparently got some kind of female memo that said “wear your prettiest sundress,” so I ended up in torn jeans and this t-shirt I bummed from Leah once I realized that a black polo shirt was not going to appropriate (or any fun at all).

After brunch, which was lovely, I went back to school and waited for my sister, and finished this hat while I listened to Sense and Sensibility.

Start: March 25, 2008

Finish: April 18, 2008

Yarn: “Caribbean Blue” handspun (mine, squee!); 2-ply (superwash merino plied with BFL); original colorway was “Blue Pacific” by Lisa Souza, bought at 2007 Stitches East.

Needles: US 10, bamboo circulars

Pattern: None at all. I started at the top with 6 stitches and increased 6 times around every other row until I had 84 stitches, I think. I knit for a few inches until the hat fit over the tops of my ears, and then added 10 or so rows of ribbing. The gauge was such that a couple of rows went a long way, and it’s a very cute hat. I like it a lot.

DSCN2501

I’ll wear it when it gets cold again!

5 comments

  1. Man, I wish we were at our last day of school so I could have my three weeks off before the summer program starts. πŸ˜‰ Re: the sundress thing – if it makes you feel any better, last Friday we had a jeans day and everyone thought I’d gotten the memo, so I wound up in a skirt and heels and all the other teachers were in jeans and t-shirts. Ask me how pissed I was. πŸ˜‰

  2. No fair! How do you get out so early? I still have six weeks until we get out.
    And, as a party store employee with a deep rooted appreciation for balloons… hella yes! That sounds awesome! I kind of want to do it now, but I don’t think my headmaster would appreciate it all that much, even though I spent the better part of the last two years interviewing him for the school paper. As for the latex smell, it takes a while to go away. It also dries my hands out pretty intensely.


Leave a Reply

