SPINNING WHEEL

(among other things)

Spinning wheel

Do you know, gentle readers, what this is? This is my spinning wheel. This is my spinning wheel that I built. This is my spinning wheel that I built with my own hands. I MADE A WHEEL. Okay, okay, I had help, and I used power tools, but… it’s my baby! And it’s not from a kit! We didn’t have a kit, or plans, or anything. Just lumber and something to copy.

the wheel

Man, it’s so beautiful. I think it needs a name. I think it’s a boy, and I think it needs a name. Help me out here. It also needs a single pilot hole drilled in one of the treadle supports because the leather strap (a.k.a. my dad’s old belt) needs to be connected and isn’t yet (and I don’t want to split the wood (again)).

I’ve spent months on this baby, and it’s so wonderful. It’s smooth and it’s pretty and it’s cherry and it’s mine. In every sense of the word. It’s a “copy” of an Ashford Traditional, but it’s my creation.

I’m showing it off at school tomorrow, and I’m excited to use it for the first time. I want to spin on it (but I can’t, see above not attached treadle).

Ooh, man. I love it.

Flyer

My favorite part is the maidens that don’t match. On the right you can see the maiden I bought at Sheep and Wool. On the left is the maiden fashioned as a substitute until I get another one that matches the one on the right. I think it’s so funny that one is beautiful and round and turned and one is SQUARE. It rocks. The flyer and bobbin I did not build. I did build the mother-of-all and the base, though, so they match the cherry wood.

Squee!

swatch

In related news, I have swatched for the Project Sweater. I think the 7s gave me the nicest fabric, so I think I might just cast on the final stage tonight!!!!

The yarn I dyed is ready…
project yarn

(mostly…)
purple/turquoise

And I can spin and dye more as I need it. Oh boy!

Also today, I pulled this little bastard…
beautiful zeke

off of the roof of our house. Picture me hanging out my sister’s bedroom window for half an hour trying to lasso a kitten out of the gutter with my sweatshirt and the handle of a bag. I have bruises all kinds of places. Freak. I love him. He’s fine, by the way.

Help me name my wheel!

20 comments

  1. Wow! I am so impressed that you MADE your own spinning wheel! You rock!

    Good naming him – he is definitely a beauty! You could call him Hunky Hank!
    hehe

  2. Holy Cow! You built a spinning wheel??? How cool are you??

    I vote for Carlos. Just a thought!

    How on earth did you build a spinning wheel??? My mind is boggled!

  3. WOW! Your wheel is awesome. You should be proud to have done such a thing. Looks great.

    Much happiness to you using it !

  4. Dude. Your wheel is freaking AWESOME. I didn’t even notice the mis-matched maidens until you pointed it out. Are you going to stain it? And if you are, are you going to take the whole thing apart first? I ask because I want to stain Pearl, but I want somebody besides my mother to tell me it doesn’t require total disassembly. 😉

    Your yarn is so pretty. Is the final sweater going to use all of the colors you dyed? And did you spin all the wool already?! Jeezy Creezy.

    PS – Wheel’s name should be Euripides. Rip for short.

  5. It looks like something from a fairy tale. *Gasp* You should make it sparkly! Just kidding. Well, unless you want to, in which case I’ll totally back you up the idea.
    Did you get a kit to make it, or was it from scratch? Either way, it’s impressive.

  6. OMG that’s so cool! You built a wheel?!?! Amazing! I’m totally bad with names but I’m sure you’ll come up with something great. 🙂

  7. So, how’d you score the wheel? I’m having a terrible time trying to locate one. I figured I’d try making the pvc wheel, lack of power tools makes you do strange things…

    What about Bob?

  8. Pingback: Daegmund « space kitty knits

  9. I am so impressed that you did this. I have a traditional which I am borrowing from my local guild. I will soon have to give it back. Could you build me one of yours? I think it’s just beautiful.

  10. Hi, this is awsome.
    I’m trying to find some plans right now to make a wheel for myself for class…
    I was wondering if you could give me a general rough plan…or even how much board feet you used.
    thanks!

  11. wow. it’s my dream
    to build a spinning wheel…
    me too, I was wondering if you could give me a general rough plan…or even how much board feet you used

    pleaeaease

    carole

  12. I’m looking for a pattern or photo to engineer a spinning wheel. I’d like this one to be my first attempt.


Leave a Reply

