Well, off we go…

So today’s the day we head off on our grand adventure! If you’re interested in following that endeavor, I’m keeping a log of the trip at http://cacafuego.wordpress.com. It’s going to be good.

In preparation for this, I made an effort to get some stuff off the needles so I didn’t take along fifteen UFOs and try in vain to finish them.

So first I finished my sister’s hat.

DSCN0633
That is my very European, very tanned from Italy, sister.

DSCN0632

Start: June 14, 2008
Finish: June 30, 2008.
Yarn: Blue/pink merino silk blend, handspun, plus Schachenmayr nomotta Saskia, in gray.
Needles: US 4
Pattern: Frances

She loves it.

Also I finished my Mad Sapphire Weave socks.

DSCN0626

(I apologize for cramming all this in before I go…)

May 25th – June 5th, US size 2 needles, Socks that Rock Mediumweight in “Sapphire.” Very cool. Pattern is Mad Color Weave by Tina Lorin.

Finally, I finished my Kaffe Stripe socks.

Kaffe stripe socks

Started June 15th, finished July 5th, 2008. Yarn is Regia 4-ply sock yarn in some kind of crazy Kaffe Fasset Colorway. They’re simple, 64 stitch stockinette socks with a heel flap and gusset and wedge toe. I’m going to give them to my sister for her birthday, which is August 9th.

Woo hoo!

Thanks for putting up with that randomosity.

I’m going to miss my boys:
Zeke and KaffeNelson

and my playwright. I’ll probably post from the road, but definitely not as often (although apparently RV parks now have wifi almost universally. Who knew?).

Enjoy the summer! I’ll be casting on my SOS’08 socks soon. Yay!

4 comments

  1. That’s so great that you finished up all your stuff! I especially love the colorweave socks – that pattern is on my must knit list!

    Have such a great time on your trip!! I know will see some amazing things. I’ll be reading the blog!

    Bon Voyage!

  2. I am very much coveting that brilliant rack of yarn hanging from your ceiling! It’s like an LYS in your bedroom! You and your sister look startlingly alike.
    Have a fun trip!


Leave a Reply

