Knits across America

Well, just my knits.

So when we left (July 8th, over a month ago) I almost packed more knitting than clothes. I packed a week’s worth of clothing, and shoved it all in my duffel bag under the back seat in the RV, but I hid my knitting like, all over in pockets and bags, under seats and stuff, all over the RV. I took my Elinor tunic and all its yarn, a pair of Koigu KPPPM skeins for a pair of socks (Froot Loops!), my Clapotis, my Hemlock Ring Blanket, and the Palindrome scarf for my dad.

I worked on all of these, and even bought yarn to start two more projects (Nanners and the Aspen Cowl)!

I sort of finished the Elinor tunic. When I first finished it, back around July 10th, it felt a little short.
Elinor tunic

But now that I look at in comparison to what it is now (about 5 inches longer), I like it better short. It looks weird on me now, and I am disappointed, because I did all kinds of crazy cutting open and re-knitting and sewing back together, which might have been in vain.

Elinor tunic

I don’t know. So it’s in time out right now so I can consider what to do. I might undo the graft I did and rip back and re-graft it where it was and leave it at that. Anyway, now the band falls at a rather unflattering spot, whereas before it was just sort of iffy.

I’m not pleased. Oh well.

FOs

Also on the trip, as you may have seen, I started and finished my Froot Loop socks:
Froot Loops

Also I started and finished a new pair:
Nanners
Nanners!

Start: July 21, 2008
Finish: August 7, 2008
Pattern: Nanners by Wendy Johnson
Yarn Nature’s Palette Fingering in “Autumn Leaf”
Needles: US 2s, 2 circs (one at a time)

Cute! The pattern was fun, but at first I didn’t like the heel. It felt too shallow. But now that I’ve worn them both, it feels fine, so I will forgive. ^_^

Nanners

WIPs

I worked on the Deep Space Clapotis, which you may be able to tell is long-ish in this picture, but I was getting bitten my mosquitoes at the time so I rushed it.
Clapotis

I started the decreases, too, and got most of the way through section 4 before I decided I could do two extra repeats of the middle section, so I ripped back, and I am very content. I love working on it, when I’m working on it, but it gets boring, so sometimes I put it down. But it will be simply beautiful when it is finished.

I partially frogged and reknit the outer feather-and-fan section of the Hemlock Ring Blanket, and it is coming along swimmingly, although the rounds do tend to get longer as I add stitches.
Hemlock Ring

It also will be beautiful, but I am content to let it grow slowly.

And finally, I started the Aspen Cowl for Ravelympics 2008. I cast on August 8th in the morning, almost bound off August 10th, and decided it was both too wide and too short (and I had run out of yarn). So that too was frogged entirely and I’m reknitting it with 20 fewer stitches, and I am greatly pleased. It should be done by tomorrow, at which point I will start a pair of gloves, also for Ravelympics!

Aspen cowl

Yarn Aquisition

I hit four yarn stores on my trip. Hooray!

The first was Yarn Paradise in Asheville, North Carolina.

Malabrigo Silky Merino
Malabrigo Silky Merino in “Nocturnal”

Koigu KPM, Turquoise
Koigu KPM in a Turquoise

This was where my mom asked me how I could honestly take so many different pictures of one skein of yarn. Clearly she does not understand. =P

The second shop was Hill Country Weavers in Austin, Texas, which I loved. I loved it there. It was room after room packed full of yarn, and I was thrilled. Have I shown you the picture of the sock yarn corner? It was awesome. I even went back a few days later when we were in Austin again (blahh) just to calm myself with the yarn fumes and look for spinning fiber (which I did not purchase, as I would want to spin right away, and I had no means to).

I got the Nature’s Palette, which turned into the Nanners above.
Nature's Palette Fingering Weight in "Autumn Leaf"

And also Lorna’s Laces Sport in “Jeans” that will become my Ravelympics gloves.
LL Sport in "Jeans"

The third store was the Red Rock Knit Shop in Sedona, Arizona, which frankly was unimpressive, and I didn’t buy anything.

The fourth shop was completely unexpected: Spin A Yarn in Dubois, WY, where we almost didn’t stop until my mom off-handedly mentioned the yarn store I’d drive right past.

So I basically pulled over right there and jumped out.

It was really cute, and they had a whole section of local wool, and/or locally spun/dyed/etc stuff, so I bought a big hank of Wyoming wool that had been dyed by the owner that I chatted with.

WY wool

That is a stupid picture, but it has my hand for scale, and the inside of the cargo van for context. It will become probably lots of Christmas hats this year. It’s very nice.

And then! The Playwright came over today and brought me a present, which was unexpected and very sweet. He spent the time I was away at a Dramatic Writing program at NYU, and so stopped into Purl soho and asked for “nice sock yarn.” What he brought me is very nice and squishy and beautiful, and I am highly impressed with him. He is very clever. ^_^

Fannie's Fingering Weight
Fannie’s Fingering Weight, colorway “Rhythm N Blues.” Apparently this is their brand, or close enough to it, and I love it.

In sad news, when we got home from vacation we discovered one of our kitties missing. The neighbour said he’d seen The Admiral about the middle of the week, but the cat sitter said she hadn’t seen him since Sunday and hadn’t assumed anything amiss.

Please send good vibes for my Nelson to come home safely! We’ve put out fliers and talked to the neighbours and the SPCA and BARCS and everyone, but the little bugger wasn’t wearing his collar because he takes it off, and he likes adventures. I’m rather worried, but there’s not much else we can do. Send him come-home thoughts!

Beautiful kitties

Thanks. I’ll go into more Ravelympics detail later. For now, goodnight.

4 comments

  1. I hope your cat comes home soon. 😦
    And your work on the tunic was not in vain. It looks great! The colors work wonderfully together, and it looks like it fits you perfectly. I know what you mean though, about feeling that it looks wrong, after all the time you spent on it.

  2. I’m sure he’ll come back now you’re all home!

    Is that photo of you in Elinor tunic before or after adding legnth? I like how it looks – so whichever one that is… it’s nice!

  3. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "palindrome" - JabberTags


Leave a Reply

