October!

Guess what guys? It’s October again. I may have mentioned before that I love October. What a difference a year makes (and doesn’t!). I still love October. I have a different boy to knit for. I still love school, but this year I’m loving a different school. Craziness.

I went home last weekend and saw my parents, and went to Lovelyarns, and ate brunch at Golden West and went to the Playwright’s reading at the Baltimore Book Festival, and overall had a really lovely weekend. I was going to play Frisbee, but the tournament was canceled because of the rain that came in all weekend, so I went to tech and screwed around and had a great time.

Also, I’ve had a recent burst of productivity! I finished Joel’s socks before September ended, as planned, and I also started and finished Liam’s hat before October even began (deadline, October 31, rock). I’ve started Maisie’s frock, and it’s coming along really pink and soft and adorable.

But let’s start with Joel’s socks, to go in order.

Start: August 25, 2008
Finish: September 25, 2008
Pattern: Boyfriend Socks
Yarn: Crash Into Ewe merino sock, in a colorway I’ve been calling “Water Currents,” but isn’t a real colorway. Terry dyed this as a demo skein for the ACC show last winter.
Needles: US 2, 2 circs. After the 1s for two weeks solid these felt ridiculous.

Joel's socks

These are so cute! They’re comfy, too; I put them all and got all sock happy. I feel like I haven’t been knitting a lot of socks lately (although I have), but I think that’s because I wasn’t really knitting socks I wanted to (or would get to) wear myself, or because it’s been too hot. But now that it’s October, I’m thinking about putting on some wool socks today myself!

Joel's socks

How cute are these cables? Adorable. Hopefully, Joel will like them, and they will fit, and everything will be great.

Joel's socks

Next up: Liam’s hat.

Start: September 26, 2008
Finish: September 29, 2008
Yarn: My own blue merino handspun, and the Wyoming wool I got on our trip this summer.
Pattern: Knit Ear Flap Hat for kids
Needles: US 8 (8/7 dpns, because I only have 2 #8 dpns. weird.)

Liam's hat

I look a bit silly, because it’s a little small for me, but I know that little kids have gigantic heads, and Liam is no exception. He’s a big little kid.

Now on the needles…
Maisie's "little sister dress"

I took this picture last night, so it’s funky with the lighting, but the color is accurate. I’m using Valley Yarns Southwick that I won at the MD Sheep and Wool Ravelry party. It’s so soft and smooth and shiny and beautiful. It’s perfect for this little dress.

But guys! Most importantly! Guess what I got to wear today, it being the chilly and wonderful first day of October!

Elinor neckline

The Elinor tunic! I finally deem it finished. I put it away in the closet on time out until I decided whether it was long enough, or too long, or what. I wore it today, and it’s perfect. It’s the perfect length, and it’s beautiful, and it fits. It’s awesome.

Elinor

I put the beads from Texas on it as the final touch.

Elinor beadsElinor beads

I’m so pleased with myself (but not with my hair, wtf!)

Elinor Tunic

Start: June 17, 2008
Finish: October 1, 2008
Pattern: Elinor Tunic by Wendy Bernard
Yarn: Vermont Organic Fiber Company, O-Wool Classic and Balance, in blue, white, orange, and green.
Needles US 8 and 7

Elinor Tunic

Yeah, I made this.

Also, my heliotrope is doing well, as is my succulent. I asked DN to take the plant home with her for break so I don’t have to worry about it.

plants

A mini pumpkin has joined the ranks. Thank you, BJF. Also, since I work for the arboretum, they’ve started offering me plants that didn’t get taken in the free-freshman-plant-day event. I might have a happy plant party. I have a great window for it.

Lest this post go on forevarrrr, last note: Socktoberfest is on. I might knit socks for it, I might not. I want to finish Maisie’s dress, and then start on a jacket for myself, but I could probably slip a sock in there somewhere.

4 comments

  1. Wow – your tunic looks awesome! The beads add an extra special touch for sure.

    The socks and hat are great too – lots of FOs for your this week!


Leave a Reply

