More hats, more things

Wow, so I was updating my little widgets on the side there, and got a bit embarassed that it had been NEARLY A MONTH since I posted, since in that time I have finished multiple things and started multiple more.

I’m still working on my Christmas presents.Β  I finished two hats, one for each of my Oregon grandparents.

This one is for my grandmother:
Foliage

Start: October 20, 2008
Finished: October 22, 2008
Pattern: Foliage by Emilee Mooney
Yarn: Noro Kureyon in color 147
Needles: US 10, but I made the smaller size and it came out perfectly

I was surprised with how nicely the Noro striped to fill the leaves in this pattern. I was a little afraid when it first started to seriously stripe that it would look weird and crazy, but I think it looks really nice. ^_^

The next hat is for my grandfather:
Jacques Couseau

Start: October 22, 2008
Finished: October 27, 2008
Pattern: Jacques Cousteau hat by Typy
Yarn: O-Wool Classic in white and blue, left over from my Elinor tunic
Needles: US 8

This pattern for whatever reason gave me a whole lot of trouble. I tried to decrease in the ribbing and had to rip it out over and over, either because I wasn’t getting the look I wanted, or the decrease was taking too long and making the hat pointy, or it was just weird. I don’t know why it was so difficult, but there it is.

Also, I didn’t get to show you yet my finished Hemlock Ring Blanket!

DSCN2363
Start:May 30, 2008
Finish:October 20, 2008
Pattern: Hemlock Ring Blanket by Jared Flood
Yarn: Blue Moon handspun, and Cascade 220 in lilac
Needles US 10.5 circulars

It’s smaller than I expected, but it’s beautiful, and keeps my lap warm when I sit on my bed to work on homework or on my computer. I love it. I blocked it on my floor first over towels, but then I removed the towels and stretched it a little more with push pins in the rug, which worked shockingly well.

The two new things I’m working on are my Christmas presents for JP and DN, my roommmates. I’m making DN a pair of mittens, because she asked, and now that I’ve overcome their sheer defiance, they are coming out nicely.
DSCN2380

I have one mitten finished and the other one started.

JP is getting a hat, with simple colorwork: every row has two colors just alternating, making a check pattern, and every eight rows I will switch out one of the colors and continue on with the second one and a new color, so that it is all blendy and continuous. So far so good. Simple knitting.

DSCN2389

Otherwise, I just keep knitting and working and going to class. I’ve started a painting class that replaced my photo class for this quarter, and that’s a big giant challenge because I know very little about painting, but color is fun. Also, if you noticed the button on the sidebar, I’m writing for NaNoWriMo, so it might be another month before I post again. So it goes.

Dad came up yesterday for Parent’s Weekend, and we went and hung out in Philly and went to Loop. I bought sock yarn for his Christmas socks, regardless of whether I finish them by Christmas or not, and it’s lovely yarn. Lorna’s Laces Shepard Sock. Fun!

Leave a Reply

