Finishing up 2008

My Christmas knitting was successful on all counts. I finished my dad’s socks a few days before Christmas and wrapped them up neatly. They took an amazingly long time, and I’m so glad to be finished them. They were tolerably amusing, but by the time I was knitting the toes I was excited to be finishing them. Dad wears a size 11. Now the Playwright wants socks too, and he wears a 13, making my women’s size 11 (men’s 9) feet look positively tiny.

completed Retro Rib socks
Retro Rib Socks
Start: November 5, 2008
Finish: December 21, 2008
Pattern: Retro Rib Socks by Evelyn A. Clark, in IK’s Favorite Socks.
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in “Mineshaft,” 2 skeins. I thought it was going to take 3, but LL has a lot of yardage on it. Score!
Needles: US 2 for leg and instep, US 1 for sole and toes.

My sister and I also finished the sweater we were knitting for mum. That was the secret gifty project that I was working on: I knit the front and both sleeves, and Sarah knit the back. We did well! The pieces were the same sizes (I knit on 8s, Sarah on 9s), and the blocking and sewing-up went well. We sat on my bed on the morning of my birthday and seamed, and wrapped the sweater up for Christmas right in time.
Sewing up the sweater.

The downside is that the sweater is too large; having not measured mom ahead of time because it was supposed to be a secret, we made it one (or two?) sizes too big, and will have to take it apart and reknit it. I am not terrifically excited about this, but I’m glad we need to knit smaller, and not larger. Mom loves it though.
Princess sweater

Princess Sweater
Start: November 23, 2008
Finish: December 23, 2008
Pattern: Sidelines Top by Lou Schiela, from IK’s Fall 2008 magazine
Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash, in a royal purple; 6ish skeins.
Needles: US 8 (me), US 9 (Sarah)

Christmas day, I also finished this scarf for the Playwright. It made me so pleased to finish it on Christmas and be able to give it to him the next day, but he’s Jewish so he doesn’t really care about the 25th for anything.
One-Row Malabrigo Scarf

One Row Marine scarf
Start: December 21, 2008
Finish: December 25, 2008
Pattern: One Row Handspun Scarf by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn: Malabrigo merino worsted, in “Marine”; 2 skeins
Needles: US 8

I used every inch of those 2 skeins. It was amazing. Here’s how much yarn I had left at the end of binding off:
End after binding off!

The pattern, the One Row Handspun Scarf, was so freaking fantastic in the Malabrigo, and my lovely grandparents got me two more skeins of Malabrigo in the colorway “Mariposa,” that I knit another scarf right away for myself.
mariposa scarf

One Row Mariposa scarf
Start: December 27, 2008
Finish: December 30, 2008
Pattern: One Row Handspun Scarf by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn: Malabrigo merino worsted, in “Mariposa”; 2 skeins
Needles: US 8

Those two scarves were the last finished objects of 2008. I have a few more things on the needles, but I’ll get into them in my upcoming welcome-to-09 post. The cat is walking off with the yarn for my mittens, and I’m going to have to untangle her.

I’m not going to do a wrapping-up-everthing-I-did post, because I’m not very interested, but I’m going to spend part of today working on my blog and getting it ready for ’09, most importantly in the area of rounding up my FOs for their own page, and setting up the sidebars for new stuff! Hooray!

Happy New Year, everyone.

3 comments

  1. I’m so glad you’re blogging again! I’ve missed you. 🙂 Also, got your comment on my blog – thanks for the compliments on the socks! Resizing that pattern for my bitty women’s size 7 feet was actually way easier than I’d thought it was going to be, and for first socks, I think they’re fantastic. Your New Year’s resolutions have a little wiggle room in them too – getting “in shape” can mean several different things. 😉 Congrats on finishing the Christmas knitting – my own Christmas knitting was, as per usual, a spectacular failure. Woo!

  2. Gorgeous holiday knits! The extra Cascade 220 you’ll have after downsizing your mom’s sweater would make a great pair of Fetching mitts to go with it, maybe! As for the One Row Scarf pattern–I made two of those this Christmas, too! Great pattern and fun to see it in the Malabrigo.


Leave a Reply

