March FOs!

Maybe I can manage one post a month or something. It’s been a month since I posted, and though I’ve been silent (here), I haven’t been still. I’ve been training for going on Spring Break this year: one week of non-stop Ultimate Frisbee in South Carolina. I’ve been running, in preparation for the 2-mile run to the fields every day. I’ve been lifting weights with my friend ML, in preparation for… something. I’m also trying to lose the freshman 15+ that I very skilfully gained over the past semester, so that’s going well.

But my knitting has not suffered!

The hat I mentioned last time was the Turn a Square hat by Jared Flood. I knit it for the Playwright, and sent it to him as a surprise, and he was very pleased! I wish I had a picture of him, but I just have me.

Turn a Square hat

Start: February 1, 2009
Finish: February 2, 2009
Pattern: Turn a Square Hat by Jared Flood.
Yarn: Cascade 220 in black and heathered teal, and blue Wyoming Wool.
Needles: US 8

The next project that flew off my needles was my long-in-planning Second Semester Henley.

Henley

I wish I had sexier pictures of me wearing it, but I actually think I’m going to rip it (almost) all out. The problem lies in the gigantic yoke I accidentally knit with my shoddy math skills. My math skills are decent, but I think my “swatch” (measuring what I was already knitting) lied to me, because by the time I was at 360 stitches (which should have set off a warning) and ready to divide for the arms and attach at the neck it was enormous and I didn’t notice. So it’s a bit big up top, and for that reason is not very sexy.

Henley neck

However! I love the neck, and I feel very clever for having done this and very sad that it will have to come out. The original cast-on for the neck was too wide, so when I went to knit the collar I just worked each shoulder like a sock heel for a few rows, and pulled it in along the line of the shoulder. The buttons I bought in Montana at the Mountain Man festival. I had 4 buttons originally, but I lost one. 3 is perfect for this neck. I love them.

Start: February 3, 2009
Finish: February 19, 2009 (sixteen days!!!)
Pattern: My own!
Yarn: Brooks Farm Four Play in blue
Needles: US 8 (I ❀ my size 8 bamboo circs)

Quick to follow that was my new alpaca cowl! I knit this fabulous thing out of my own handspun, navajo plied, alpaca. It’s so soft and cushy and cozy. The Playwright says I look like I’m wearing a neck brace in the photo, but I think it’s pretty. =D

Alpaca Lace Cowl

Start: February 23, 2009
Finish: February 25, 2009
Pattern: Ridged Lace Cowl by Elinor Brown (not me)
Yarn: handspun! alpaca! mine! squee!
Needles: US 8 (yup)

Two things I knit that were not for me were this headband, which was a commission, and this fugly bird, which was a gift.

DSCN2935Horace

The headband is knit in Cascade 220 and more handspun, Mountain Colors Targhee in “Northern Lights.” I was sad when she picked the handspun as a match for the Cascade, because I wanted it all for myself, but I have plenty leftover and I’m not crying about it. The bird was knit out of handspun sent to me as a prize for some blog contest by the lovely and fabulous Jessica of Zarzuela Knits and Crochets ages ago.

I think I’ll do a separate (sneaky) post for WIPs, so I can pretend like I post more than once in a blue moon.

Thanks for still reading! I love you! I’ll let you know when I rip out my beautiful sweater.

One comment

  1. It would KILL me to rip out that sweater. It would be a horrible, painful death.

    I hope you’re having a good time on Spring Break. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

